Filed under: General — jasmine0309 @ 12:08 pm

The Japanese alphabet consists of 99 sounds formed with 5 vowels (a, e, i, o, and u) and 14 consonants (k, s, t, h, m, y, r, w, g, z, d, b, p, and n), as is shown in the hiragana chart.
Long vowels
u” is sometimes used to create long vowels. In arigatoo, for instance, the last letter is not pronounced “u” but as a long “o.”
Double consonants
In ittekimasu, there’s a pause between “i” and “te.” The little “” has a function of creating a pause, so ittekimasu has six syllables.
When “ha” and “he” are used as a particle (particles will be explained later), they are pronounced as “wa” and “e”: konnichiwa and konbanwa.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s